Sutton House Music Society

Bringing classical music of the highest quality to Hackney audiences
 at affordable prices in a friendly relaxed setting.


SNCMF @ Sutton House – Sunday 23 November 2014 at 7pm

The next concert in the Sutton House series is Trauma and Withdrawal: A programme of chamber music and song reflecting traumatic events and retreat into inner worlds.

A co-promotion between Sutton House Music Society and Stoke Newington Contemporary Music Festival, this special event (curated by Brian Inglis) reflects on traumatic events and the refuge provided by inner worlds of fantasy and grandiloquence.

Commemorating the centenary of the outbreak of the First World War, Inglis’ own Three War Songs set poems by celebrated war poets Wilfred Owen, Siegfried Sassoon and Robert Graves, which vividly reflect the horror and poignancy of the war but also the strange and terrible beauty of the intimacy engendered by the experience. Their premiere as a set will be presented by the highly accomplished singer, teacher and animateur Mark Oldfield.

Russian composer Galina Ustvolskaya lived through the Siege of Leningrad in WWII and rarely ventured from her flat in later years. A favoured pupil of Shostakovich, she wrought a musical language of uncompromising intensity from her experiences and deep religious faith – we present a rare performance of her extraordinary Symphony No. 4 for the unique combination of voice, piano, trumpet and tam-tam, along with her Piano Sonata No. 1 which reveals more closely her relationship to Shostakovich, but in an utterly individual style.  Performers in the symphony include experienced contemporary music specialists Torbjörn Hultmark (trumpet) and Simon Limbrick (percussion).

Another recluse, the eccentric Anglo-Parsi composer Kaikhosru Sorabji, lived his whole life in Britain yet dreamed of other lands and unheard sonorities; his richly decorative and inventively elaborate soundworld is heard at its most approachable in his songs, of which we present a varied selection to mainly French texts, sung by mezzo-soprano Gina Fergione. As an extra treat, we present the World Premiere of the tiny Frammento Cantato – a work whose aphoristic dimensions belie its evocative power.

Finally, a chance to hear a piano concerto in the intimate atmosphere of Sutton House: Brian Inglis’ Concerto for Piano Solo, premiered by Gabriel Keen just last year, is directly inspired by the work of another hermit-composer, French-Jewish Romantic Charles-Valentin Alkan, to whom the work is a homage. A symphony, a concerto and a World Premiere in the same concert: this unique event stretches the boundaries of chamber music to the limit.

SNCMF website:

Tickets: £12; concessions (proof required) £10; people under 26, disabled people and their carers free. Tickets can be purchased by clicking

The café/bar will be open before the concert and during the interval.

Next concert for your diary:  On Sunday 14th December at 6pm, Stoke Newington based a cappella choir Wing-It Singers return by popular request for another festive programme of songs from Eastern and Western Europe as well as Britain.

Please go to the This Seasons page for further details of all the concerts in this season.

7 pm Sunday 5th October 2014: Consortium5 Recorder Consort

7 pm Sunday 23rd November 2014: Gina Fergione and Mark Oldfield (voice), Gabriel Keen and Christopher Scobie (piano), Torbjörn Hultmark (trumpet), Simon Limbrick (percussion)

6 pm Sunday 14th December 2014: Wing-It Singers

3 pm Sunday 15th February 2015: Raphaela Papadakis (soprano), James Sherlock  (piano)

3 pm Sunday 22nd March 2015: Maxwell String Quartet

7 pm Sunday 19th April 2015: Charles Tebbs (piano)

7 pm Sunday 10th May 2015: Fitzwilliam String Quartet

7 pm Sunday 7th June 2015: Roskell Piano Trio